The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2009, 10:39 PM

BPW is on a distinguished road
Default New to fly tying and looking for some help...

Hi all,

I am new to fly tying and I want to graduate from the inexpensive AA Vise that I have. I guess at this point, you already know the question...which one do I get?? I have asked around, and Regal seems to be the vise of choice. I would like to hear from the group as to which you would suggest. Flies tied would be on hooks no larger than size 8, and no smaller than a 14 or 16...rotary would not be important.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

BPW
Old 04-28-2009, 04:40 AM

Pocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New to fly tying and looking for some help...

I use a Regal vise for my fly tying. They're simple, dependable and really hold the fly in place with lots of jaw pressure. I've used it with the standard jaws for flies as large as #8's and as small as #20's, and for me, it works equally well across that range of hook sizes. My wife gave me a Renzetti Traveller vise for Christmas and, probably shamefully, it simply sits off to the side of my tying bench while I continue to use my Regal. I think that for the money, the basic Regal vise is hard to beat.

This is the model that I use; in a C-clamp configuration:

Regal Vise, Fly Tying Vises, Kits and Accessories - Medallion Series Vise
Old 04-28-2009, 05:08 AM