The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 01:05 PM

dave5977 has a spectacular aura aboutdave5977 has a spectacular aura aboutdave5977 has a spectacular aura about
Default Why Fly hooks only?

I am new to tying flies. I just bought a cheap vice to begin with and the first statement that caught my eye in the instructions was to "use fly fishing hooks only". My question is why? Why only fly fishing hooks? I wanted to dress up some of my crappy and bluegill jigs and such. I also bought some #6 hooks to try tying some nymphs and larva etc. Mainly because they are much cheaper than #6 or #8 hooks for flies. I also felt it would be more economical to practice on the less expensive fish hooks. Not to mention the overwhelming need, and possible frustration, to save the expensive fly hook if it turned out to be a complete disaster and or it flew apart on my first cast.
Old 01-11-2011, 01:28 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Why Fly hooks only?

Hi Dave,