The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2006, 10:52 AM
Prospecting for Trout

Piscator will become famous soon enoughPiscator will become famous soon enough
Default Fly Tying Materials???

Ok, I just started in the other side of fly fishing: Fly Tying. My question is what is the difference in thread, yarn or other materials that you can buy from Walmart as opposed to buying materials from a fly shop.

Since I'm just getting started I want to save money where I can and this seems to be a logical place to do it but I don't want to sacrifice my qaulity of my fly material.

What's your thoughts?

Thanks,
Terry
Old 03-08-2006, 11:39 AM
Administrator

Fish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Fish Bones
Default Re: Fly Tying Materials???

Tying thread is sold in several different configurations. Most tying thread has a floss-like construction of multiple parallel fibers, creating a flat thread that can come with varying amounts of twist. Thread that can be flattened (untwisted before you wrap) makes it easier to produce a smooth head on the fly. Flat thread also tends to lie flatter on the hook and cause less bulk on the hook shank. Flat thread is also less prone to cut materials such as foam. Round thread, like rod-building or sewing thread, is built like rope, with a number of threads or plys twisted together.

Heavy twisted-ply thread, like sewing thread, holds material by biting into it and is a good choice if you need to spin deer hair, or build up mass with your thread, as in some saltwater flies. For most trout flies it tends to build up a little fast and can cause problems with crowding the head.