Salmon River trip this fall

ben664

Reaction score
Hi !! I'm looking for a small week trip this fall (come from France) and I first think about the SR !!

There are a lot of lodges and inns. Anyone better than others with a resonable price ?

I'm new in Steelhead fishing, and I will need a fly fishing guide. You guys know a good one ? And last question, november is very crowded ?

Thancks

wt bash

Reaction score

ben664

Reaction score
I don't know much about hotels in that area but I would consider fishing the Douglaston Salmon Run. Have a look they might even be able to set you up with well just about everything, Douglaston Salmon Run, World-Class Salmon Fishing << Douglaston Salmon Run northeast Salmon fishing Steelhead Coho Bass fishing upstate NY >>. Hope that helps, its a bit exspensive but its your best bet for avoiding the circus up there.
Thancks wt bash !! Yes I saw the DSR. It's expensive you're right....but they own the only private piece of the river ?

Maybe on smallers rivers it's better ?

wt bash

Reaction score
There used to be a few escape creeks along the coast but those little secrets have been found out. Its actually not that bad in terms of crowds, its at its worst during the salmon runs but once the cold starts to really settle in the crowds drop off. You can always find some water to yourself. If you hire a guide they can put you on less crowded sections. The reason I reccomended the DSR is that you don't have to fish in a mess, no trash, its taken care of and angler etiquette is somewhat upheld, plus its nearly all fresh fish in from the lake.

stoneyclove

Reaction score
Hi Ben,