The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Great Lakes Region

Great Lakes Region Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana and Ohio. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2013, 09:51 AM

higginsb4 is on a distinguished road
Default Little Miami, Cincinnati Hybrid Striper Fishing

Hello:

I just moved to Cincinnati around a year ago and have fished the Little Miami River multiple times using streamers and clousers. I have only been fly fishing for a year now and am self-taught. I love getting out there but lately I have not had much luck. I have probably only caught around 10 fish total and I know there are much larger hybrids in there that will make for a lot more fun. I search around, hike and am do my research but I have really had a hard time recently catching anything.

Would anyone be able to offer any tips on what am I doing wrong? I am trying to fish the riffles where bait fish might be and where the hybrids are hanging out. Is there a better time of day or a technique I should try? I appreciate any help you guys feel like offering. I am not looking for the secret spot or anything, I know it is better to eventually find it on your own anyways, just a little push in the right direction on flies and techniques.

Thanks
Old 11-11-2013, 05:59 AM

arreflections is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Little Miami, Cincinnati Hybrid Striper Fishing

Stick with your streamers like the clouser minnow. The little Miami river close to the Ohio river generally produces better results versus further up the little Miami.
Old 11-11-2013, 09:42 AM