The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Great Lakes Region

Great Lakes Region Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana and Ohio. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By ejsell
  • 2 Post By king joe
  • 1 Post By pszy22

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 12:04 PM

shotgunlew is on a distinguished road
Default First Fly Rod..

Hello Guys, I am new to the sport of fly fishing but I have been fishing my entire life. I am looking for some suggestions on a first fly rod. The species I will be targeting will be Smallies, Largemouth and Steelhead. I know these fish vary in size... So I was thinking a 8 weight 9 foot rod ( The Cabela's RLS that is currently on sale )...How would this be for a first rod?
Old 11-18-2013, 01:45 PM

fishers_fisherman will become famous soon enough
Default Re: First Fly Rod..

Been looking at that one myself, all the reviews seem great but have never had the chance to cast one. If you have opportunity to do so you should probably try out a few different rods before purchasing, see what feels right in your hand. The Reddington Pursuit combo would be another one to look at, I've got it in a 6wt and have really enjoyed it.
Old 11-18-2013, 06:10 PM

ejsell has a spectacular aura aboutejsell has a spectacular aura about

I haven't used those rods but an 8wt. will be overkill on bass if you are looking for a good fight. I personally use a 5 wt. and 6 wt. for bass and carp and have an 8wt. for steelhead and salmon. A lot of steelhead alley guys use 6 and 7wt. rods for steelhead. When I got my 8 wt. I tried it out in my local river and didn't realize I had a smallie on until he went sailing by me on my back cast. Granted he was pretty small but even for a larger one there isn't much fight on my 8wt. Good luck and try them out first if you can.
fredaevans likes this.
Old 11-19-2013, 10:51 AM