The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 10:37 PM

ssmith will become famous soon enough
Default it is possible...?

Hey everyone,

I will warn you I am totally new to spey and have been heavily confused by much of what I have found on the internet. I'm debating buying a Redington CPX 11374 for steelies on the Wisconsin tribs but I am on a very tight budget. I can't really afford to go all out and purchase a new reel and full set of spey lines right now but plan to in the future. Currently I have an Orvis battenkill Large Arbor III reel and SA 7wt steelhead line on it and I know that it will stand up to steelhead but will not work well on this rod by itself.

My question is if I were to purchase a Skandi/Skagit head and attached it to the Steelhead line for my running line would I be able to effectively achieve what I am trying to do?

'If our father had had his say, nobody who did not know how to catch a fish would be allowed to disgrace a fish by catching him.'
Old 02-10-2011, 11:00 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: it is possible...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmith View Post
My question is if I were to purchase a Skandi/Skagit head and attached it to the Steelhead line for my running line would I be able to effectively achieve what I am trying to do?
Nope. It will not be effective.