The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 10:01 AM

Brewmaster is just really niceBrewmaster is just really niceBrewmaster is just really niceBrewmaster is just really nice
Default Spey Casting by any other name?

I have recently become a bit interested in learning more about Spey casting, so I have been reading all the forum threads about spey casting, and also reading assorted magazine articles. Then I watched several of the youtube.com videos, and surprise, surprise! Apparently I have been Spey casting for years (or something like that!) and just did not know it.

I am basically a self-taught fly fisherman who learned to cast by trial and error more than 40 years ago (long before the internet existed), and by watching a few other folks casting on the tight streams in the Midwest where space to back cast is usually an infrequent luxury. I have been using techniques almost the same as the Spey cast, the double Spey cast and the Snap-T cast for more than 20 years and have been calling them different names (e.g. I simply called the Spey cast a "half-cast", and called the Snap-T a "cross-cast").

I saw more than one video where they use the phrase "Single-Handed Fly Rod Casting Using Spey Casting Techniques". Thus my question: is it only considered "Spey" casting when you use a two-handed Spey rod or at a minimum a Switch rod? Is it still called "Spey" casting with a standard one-handed rod?
Old 03-25-2010, 11:11 AM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border