The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 08:53 PM

jeremy_w is on a distinguished road
Default new rod for new spey caster

Well, yesterday afternoon fishing my 11' 8 weight switch rod i hooked into a massive king, was 45.3" Which id big for upstate ny, and during the process he snapped my switchg rod, all i had for salmon and steel head. Now, i'm looking at the echo solo, i can get one for about 200 out the door from local flyshop, and i really don't want a SH rod. My question is, are there any other full spey rods you guys would suggest for under $230.00, i can get a greys G series for the same price. I can always get a half decent SH rod for about 150 or so. I have my Snap T, wombat cast, double spey down, and im working on my parry polk. Any suggestions would be great
Old 10-22-2011, 09:10 AM

randyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to all
Default Re: new rod for new spey caster

I cast the Cabelas switch rod and liked it. Maybe they have a longer spey rod. I like the look of the Echo better.

What kind of line are you using? If you're using a Scandi line I would buy a spey rod with a softer tip.

Also, if you're using one of the new "Short" lines, you'll have to stay with a shorter spey rod, unless there's some sort of tip
you can attach to it to match the length of your rod.

Randy

Last edited by randyflycaster; 10-22-2011 at 09:22 AM. Reason: More info
Old 10-22-2011, 11:50 AM

oregonism is a jewel in the roughoregonism is a jewel in the roughoregonism is a jewel in the rough