The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 02:52 PM

joshmac is on a distinguished road
Default flextec powertec 11' 9wt line suggestions

hi im new to the forum. my wife got me a flextec powertec 11' 9wt fly rod for a early christmas present. then got me a rio skagit flight 550gr shooting head and a 450gr rio scandi afs shooting head. i have tried the skagit out in my back yard and seems to load the rod fairly well but im new to fly fishing. my question is; is the 450gr a little light for my rod and are these the right stlyes to start off with to learn to spey cast? thanks alot! josh
Old 01-09-2012, 02:04 PM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: flextec powertec 11' 9wt line suggestions