The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 02:02 PM

bigred86 is on a distinguished road
Default Looking for Switch Rod Advice

Hi guys, I am very interested in getting into switch/spey for slamon and steelhead. I am very interested in getting a switch rod kit as I would still like to be able to single hand cast. I would like to build a kit as I am on a budget and I really do enjoy a project. My questions are what size and weight would be best for fishing for salmon and steelhead? What kits have people built with good success? I like the look of the Rainshadow kits from Hook and Hackle, are there similar kits out there? And finally can you use a normal large arbor fly reel, or do I need a specific reel and line set up? Any help would be awesome as I am very new to this, and this is my first post. Glad to be part of an online fly fishing community! Thanks guys!
Old 09-03-2012, 03:06 PM

fredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Looking for Switch Rod Advice

As this is going to be a 'duel fish' rod I'll start with a suggestion on rod weight - a 7 at no more than 11'6"