The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By georg_riddle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 11:23 PM

georg_riddle is on a distinguished road
Default Moving from a spey rod to a switch.

My home river, the Kvichak is a great spey river. I have been casting a spey for quite a few years. I end up fishing alone and have found it difficult to land large fish without dragging them on the bank. I look for wet grass and never onto sand or gravel but it is difficult. I have found handling an 11' rod with a 25+ inch trout standing thigh deep easier to manage that the 13 footer.

Has anyone else found the switch rod more manageable than the longer rods?

George
fredaevans likes this.
Old 11-01-2012, 12:38 AM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Moving from a spey rod to a switch.

Hi George,