The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   How to Spey Cast - Technique and Advice (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/how-spey-cast-technique-advice/)
-   -   after much decision...echo I went (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/how-spey-cast-technique-advice/310027-after-much-decision-echo-i-went.html)

derelict 02-04-2013 05:07 PM

after much decision...echo I went

Bouncing back and forth between going with an 8 weight single hander or switch and I went switch. Specifically, I went Echo SR in 6 weight and 10` 10" guise. So, having entered the two handed world, I am trying to understand what I need to purchase to line it. I'm used to backing, floating line, leader and then fly. I've looked at Rios chart for this rod and damn if I cannot understand a single thing there. I am a novice caster and prefer to feel the rod load so I am assuming that I am looking at the 'B' column but the numbers confuse me. I believe that Scandi is for lighter flies and Skagit is for larger streamers. I am looking to be able to throw to many different fish but will focus on what I can snag up here in the tidal Potomac but also go out with me on a planned trip into Canada to chase Salmon, steelhead or 10+ pound browns. I chose the 6 weight with the idea that it would be roughly equivalent to an 8 or 9 weight single hander.

I'm a blank slate here so if one casting style or line style sounds better, I am willing to put out the effort and time to get there. So, educate me :thmbup: because I am lost here.

billyspey 02-04-2013 07:24 PM

Re: after much decision...echo I went

Steve Godshall in Medford Oregon is the two hand guru of lines I would suggest Steve a call talk with him about your rod and what you want to fish . Best advice for anyone wanting to get into 2 hand rods he will save tons of time and money.

MacSuibhne 02-05-2013 08:54 AM