Stripping basket for kayak fishing

denver1911

Reaction score
Hi all. I am not new to kayak fishing. Been doing it in fresh water for 15 or so years. Among others, I have a Wilderness Systems Ride X that I can stand in. This is my primary kayak for fishing fairly stable water.

I AM new to salt water fly fishing. I've fished for redfish once and am going on a three day school in Georgetown, SC in two weeks.

I plan a DIY trip back to the Georgetown area in April. I will be taking my yak and want to be prepared. When fly fishing from it in warm water, I never worried about a stripping basket. Casts are generally pick-up/lay-down and little line actually winds up in the boat or water around me. I am also not subject to having to clear the line quickly as a strong fish in shallow water runs for the horizon.

So, do I need a stripping basked for using from my kayak whilst fly fishing for redfish? If so, how does it work? Get one that straps to me and use it while standing? Of does something stay on the boat?

Many thanks!

dakotakid

Reaction score
I'm curious what happened to this tread. I posted a reply with photos, that disappeared later in the day. I now see that Rip Tide's reply is blank. Can anyone explain why this happened?

Rip Tide

Reaction score
I'm curious what happened to this tread. I posted a reply with photos, that disappeared later in the day. I now see that Rip Tide's reply is blank. Can anyone explain why this happened?
Good question
I posted twice in this thread and that wasn't my edit.

dakotakid

Reaction score
I'll try this again and hope that my previous post wasn't deleted because I mentioned something inappropriate.

I use a stripping basket made from a child's step stool that cost me less than $10. Don't know where I bought it and can't find an identical one anymore on the internet. The closest one is the Dreambaby anti-slip step stool, but Graco and a couple other companies offer something similar.