The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Kayak/SUP Discussion

Kayak/SUP Discussion Discuss the use of kayaks and SUP's for fly fishing

Like Tree18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2017, 07:28 AM

gpwhitejr is on a distinguished road
Default Rod length

I have been fishing from a kayak for several years, and have been interested in the ongoing discussion (on various forums) about rod length. It seems there are two schools of thought - a long rod for better casting (and getting the line around the front and back of the boat if necessary), vs a short rod for ease of landing fish (and changing spools, etc.). I use several nine foot rods, but I have to admit I find it easier to deal with my little 6'10" 4-weight in the kayak. The downside though is that I usually fish in a pond that has some fairly large bass, maybe up to 5 pounds or so (if you live in Florida, stop snickering; that is a big fish around here) and I don't think that rod is the best tool for the job. Any thoughts?

OK, I do have an ulterior motive. I have been looking at these supposed bass-specific rods from various companies; 6 to 10 weight, 7'11" (so they can be legal for bass tournaments), but I need a good excuse to buy more stuff. And I wonder if a foot is going to make a useful difference. I think a 7 foot 7 weight is really what I want; does it exist?
karstopo likes this.
Old 07-07-2017, 08:05 AM

karstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to beholdkarstopo is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Rod length