The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Lower Mid-U.S.

Lower Mid-U.S. Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, and Kansas. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2005, 02:11 PM

HardingJoe will become famous soon enoughHardingJoe will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to HardingJoe
Default Hatch Guides/Charts for the Little Red

I'm a student at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas, and since I'm broke pretty much all the time, I was wondering if there were any online resources to Hatch Guides or Hatch Charts for the Little Red River.

I've only been fly fishing for about a year and a half, and I've yet to catch a trout with my fly rod (the only things I've caught, actually, were Bluegill and Bass on the Norris Lake in Tennessee, using popper flies.)

I don't really understand how to use real flies just yet, but I am eager to learn. If anyone has any advice or resources for me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank You
--Mark 1:17

"I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength."
--Philippians 4:13
Old 02-16-2005, 06:44 PM

DAVY WOTTON will become famous soon enoughDAVY WOTTON will become famous soon enough
Default Hatches for the Little Red.

Ok, l can help you here.

The Arkansas tail waters, such as the Red, White and Norfork do contain a vast amount of organisms that provide the basis of food for the trout.
The major food sources are crustaceans, scuds, sowbugs, crawdads.
So far as hatches are concerned they are, at certain times of the year, primarily, midges, caddis and some mayfly.

Tailwaters such as the Red, White and Norfork rivers, tend not to have a very large diversity of mayfly. but those which will be evident in large numbers will be BWO and Sulphurs at certain times of the year.