The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Lower Mid-U.S. (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/lower-mid-u-s/)
-   -   arkansas small streams (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/lower-mid-u-s/288722-arkansas-small-streams.html)

jw12 06-19-2012 05:19 PM

arkansas small streams

Does anyone know of any small trout streams that they have had good luck at in Arkansas?

freebird630 06-22-2012 09:40 PM

Re: arkansas small streams

I'm no expert as I'm just getting started fly fishing in Arkansas myself but I think your best bet is the Little Red river, portions of the White River and Norfork rivers and small streams off of these two rivers in northern Arkansas.

I just recieved the copy of the book Home Waters Mid-South Fly Fishers and it's guide to fishing Northern Arkansas, Western Tennessee, and Southern Missouri that I bought used off of amazon.com and it's actually like brand new when I recieved it. It outlines all of the trout water in Arkansas with access point listed, flies and nymphs that are popular and their sizes. I think it was a worth while investment.

al_a 06-22-2012 11:02 PM

Unlike Missouri, there is very little if any consistent small stream trout fishing in AR. The Little Red can be pretty small when they are not generating, but it's still a tailwater fishery and can be big when they are generating. The White and North Fork are tailwaters. About the only real non-tailwater trout stream is the Spring River near the AR-MO border, and even it wouldn't be classified as a small, wading type stream. The difference between AR and MO is in the lack of good sized springs in the Arkansas Ozarks and Ouachitas. Missouri has a lot more significant springs, which keep sections of a number of different rivers and creeks cool enough to support trout year-round.