Lower mountain fork river regulars.

jmhall87

Reaction score
I'm new to tying flies and I keep hearing about this fly called the spillway creek caddis, I've never so much as seen a picture of one though, if anyone would be kind enough to post a picture much less a tying recipe I'd greatly appreciate it. I'll be making my next trek up there at the beginning of November.

jcw355

Reaction score
That might be Rob Woodruffs pattern. He's an orvis endorsed guide and if you're reading the orvis fishing reports he is the one that writes them. He guides out of Three rivers fly shop. I've seen it but cant tell you what the materials are because I dont know. It's really bright, chartreuse and black. Someone correct me if im wrong but I believe thats it.

---------- Post added at 04:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:25 AM ----------

Rob did say that the caddis turn that really bright color in the winter. Im thinking he said around February. I took his entomology class a couple years back and thoroughly enjoyed it.

lmffisher

Reaction score
I too cannot tell you the caddis that you are referring to, but there is a nice black caddis hatch during the late winter and spring months. Also, down lower below the Evening Hole Bridge, there's a pretty nice size caddis(size 12 or larger) that hatches during the fall months. Great dry fly fishing. I plan on heading down that way soon. Hope to post a good report. Good luck.

jmhall87

Reaction score
Really? I've never seen anybody catch much below the evening hole bridge. I usually camp in the hickory campground. I'll be up there with a buddy the weekend of November 9th will these huge caddis be hatching then?

lmffisher

Reaction score
Jmhall87,
Well, I was down there last week and unfortunately, didn't see any of the large caddis, but did see quite a few black and light colored caddis on Spillway. Maybe they are late and you might get into some of those nice bugs by the time November rolls around. Hope you do.