The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 12:55 AM

spec5 is on a distinguished road
Default Buon giorno!

Hey,

I'm new to fly fishing, I have two rods, two reels, and no experience! I just bought a fly tying kit yesterday and have tyed five different flies since last night!

So far I've tyed a rock worm, a pheasant tail nymph, two Adams, and a parachute Adams. All of them look decent (in my unprofessional opinion). I did bolo a wooleybugger my first attempt .

For rods an reels I have a cabelas combo to practice with (prestige 865 I think) and I acquired an old school (60s era) harnell and a buddy gave me some cheap brand reel for it. Sizes 8.5ft, and 9ft respectively.

I currently reside in the pacific northwest, and will be moving to Italy this summer and fishing the Italian coast!
Old 02-08-2011, 10:42 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buon giorno!

Welcome to the forum! Wow, that is a big move from the Pacific NW to Italy.
You might want to take a look at Charlie Craven's book "Basic Fly Tying".
Amazon.com: Charlie Craven's Basic Fly Tying (9780979346026): Charlie Craven: Books Amazon.com: Charlie Craven's Basic Fly Tying (9780979346026): Charlie Craven: Books
It is the best book on fly tying if you are interested in trout flies.