The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2006, 10:09 AM

chefcj is on a distinguished road
Default Hello to all from Wisconsin

I am new to fly fishing this year. I have been an angler for many years but have only recently been interested in fly fishing. I am most interested in starting with panfish (crappie, bluegill and perch) but will inevitably try my hand at the great salmon and steelhead rivers around me once I have my technique above horrific.

I have one question which might be answered, do you just let a wet fly sink on the leader and tippet in less than 8-10 feet of water or do you use a sinking tip fly line?

Thanks for the forum and I look foward to sharing as much as I receive.

CJ
Old 05-03-2006, 11:47 AM

fshfanatic will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Hello to all from Wisconsin

Depends.
If I am casting from shore, let it sink.
If I am in a pontoon, intermediate sink line.
Old 05-03-2006, 12:58 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future

If you're trying to get a fly to the bottom in water that deep, then you would definitely be best off to use a sinking line of some sort. You could use a weighted fly and a 12' leader, but this is a tough rig to cast for a beginner. (or anybody, for that matter)