The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2011, 02:46 PM

naturelover is on a distinguished road
Default Greetings from sunny California

Hello all,
I'm new to fly fishing, and am learning with/from my Dad who has become a fly fishing fanatic recently

We've had some great fun fishing in Northern California, and I'm excited to get myself set up with an outfit of my own so I can practice and get to know my own rod, and figure out how to choose flies on my own rather than always borrowing from my Dad.

Possibly relevant info:
I'm in the Sac area, and love to fish creeks for trout mostly, rarely I'll do some lake fishing.

Seems like I'm looking for a ~9ft 5wt rod to get myself started. I'm hoping to get a decent set up for <$200 for rod/reel/line/leader etc.

I'm willing to put one together myself buying things individually, but I'm unsure of how to choose the individual parts such that they will all be decent quality for the price and that they would all match/work together well.

I'm a girl of slight build, not sure if that factors in much, but if you have recommendations, I'd love to hear them!

I've heard good things about some of the Cabela's outfits, especially the TFO ones, and also some from Reddington seem to be well thought of. My Dad loves his G. Loomis, but I don't think I'll find one of those in my price range...

I appreciate any advice you can give me! I'm looking forward to sharing my success with the forum as I figure out this wonderful sport!

Thanks so much!
~Emily
Old 09-06-2011, 03:26 PM