The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 05:47 PM

chimborazo is on a distinguished road
Default Greetings from Central VA

Hi everybody! I'm a fly fishing newbie in Richmond who just went fly fishing for the first time yesterday. I've been fishing for years, mostly in ponds/lakes and in the Chesapeake Bay near the mouth of the Patuxent River. Although I've been fishing for a long time and know a decent amount about it, I would not consider myself a particularly good fisherman and have a ton to learn, especially when it comes to fly fishing.

Anyway, an old friend of mine and I started hanging out again this summer after the loss of our best friend. He had been fishing once when he was 6 (we're both mid/late 30's), but had decided he wanted to get into primitive camping. Part of that meant that he wanted some basic fishing gear. So he got an ultralight spinning rod and came to a pond with me. Well, once his first bluegill was hooked, so was he. It turns out that his boss is really into fly fishing (and probably a member of this forum), so they started talking more about it, we talked about it, and I decided to finally pull the trigger on getting into fly fishing. His boss loaned him an outfit to use until he buys one.

After some research and a lot of deliberation, I went with an Orvis Clearwater II 5wt 9' mid flex with BBS III reel. I took it out yesterday, practiced some casts and started catching some panfish. What a blast! I had a lot of fun, but also know that I have a long way to go as far as casting and just about everything else. I was sloppy as hell but it was fun and I didn't get skunked. I can't wait to get out there again and look forward to taking the classes Orvis offers when they start up again in the spring.