Greetings from Upstate NY (Albany Area)

fire instructor

Reaction score
Good Evening, All!

Another newbie here. Long time spin fisherman, but new on this site, and new to flyfishing. I'd owned a 8' fiberglass fly rod for 30+ years, but all I'd ever really used it for was with an ultralite spinning reel on it. I used it like a very long ultralite spinning rod. Caught lots of fish on it that way....

It's a dinosaur rod. I bought it in 1977 from a shop in Troy, NY that was closing, and had a close-out sale. Got it for $15. When I got it home, I went to fill out the mail-in card tied to one of the eyes, and it had a check-box to check if I wanted to be sent my "New 1964 Shakespeare Catalog". I still use it for extra reach with a spinning lure while fishing from my kayak. Not bad for a $15, 47 year old rod!!!

After watching and admiring the work of fly fisherman at a distance, I decided that it was my time to give it a try. Needed to make some decisions on what equipment to buy, and while doing some internet research, stumbled upon this site and signed up.

Had to drive to northern Vermont two Saturday's ago for some work, so I took the opportunity to stop at Orvis in Manchester. Looked around, asked some questions, picked up a book, a DVD, and some literature.

Now, after doing some reading, I'll likely be headed back there on Black Friday to pick out a Christmas present to myself!

Be safe, and Everyone Goes Home,

Rick

"Fire Instructor"

littledavid123

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Rick

We enjoy hearing the stories of our new members so don't be shy. :D Also check out the search tab as there is a treasure trove of good stuff hidden in there.

Dave

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score