The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 09:46 AM

zug buggin has a spectacular aura aboutzug buggin has a spectacular aura aboutzug buggin has a spectacular aura about
Default Tyer from Georgia new to Salmon flies

Hi all
I'm a trout fisherman/fly tyer from Georgia just outside of Atlanta. I have lurking and occasionally posting for a while and I must say I'm am blown away by some of the Salmon Flies I have seen on here. I have done many google searches to look a what I would call "useful artwork" in short I am very impressed with the quality and looks of Salmon flies. One thing I noticed was a lack of "how to" tutorial sites, I'm probably not looking in the right places though.
I have been tying for 20 years and would consider my self a competent tyer (as in I can tye flies and go catch fish with them) of nymphs large and small, southern streamers, small emergers, soft hackles, and tiny midge nymphs. I seldom fish drys so I seldom tye them, and it seems nobody in the South knows much about Wet Flys (tying them or fishing them) either, from a lay person they look similar so I'm assuming they are similar.
I really want to learn the basics of Salmon Flies, could someone recommend sites or books that will help me in baby steps at first to get started tying and understanding Salmon flies. I'm not sure thay would be effective in this part of the country but I want to learn how to tye flies this pretty and maybe learn some techniques that will transfer back to my trout flies.
I was hoping somebody could push me in the right direction
Thanks,
Zug
Old 01-21-2012, 10:12 AM