The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2007, 12:27 PM

stevem is on a distinguished road
Default New to the forum

Hello there,

I was pointed to this forum from some flyfishing folks at my favourite woodworking forum, seems there are quite a few who enjoy both of those pastimes!

Anyways, I've been fishing since I was a kid (30+ years) and have always wanted to try fly fishing. Now my kids interest in fishing has rekindled my interest and encouraged me to finally try flyfishing.

Having read much info here and elsewhere, I bought a Scientific Angler combo kit at a local dealer so as not to spend big $$$ before I find out if I like it or not. One look at my collection of spinning rods, reel and tackle and I know how much one can spend on this stuff

We are heading out on a camping trip to Algonquin Park in a few days, should give me plenty of time to try it out.

I can see there is lots of great info here.

Thanks,
Steve
Old 08-07-2007, 01:28 PM

troutslayer has a spectacular aura abouttroutslayer has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: New to the forum

Welcome to the forum! Once you get your first fish on a fly, the fish will not be the only one hooked! You will wonder why you waited so long! Any questions, please be sure and ask! Lots of good information on this forum and people willing to share their wealth of experience. Don't forget though, "It's still gonna take three more years to think like a fish!" (A River Runs Through It)