The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 12:59 AM

crohnie31 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie Introduction

Hey everyone!! I am new to the site and a complete newbie to fly fishing (bought my first rod and reel 3 days ago). I am completely enamored by fly fishing and have been doing research none stop since my first purchase. I currently live in Kansas, but I am moving to Camden, Maine in May. I have been fishing all my life, but it's pretty limited to lakes and mostly little farm ponds, catching bass, catfish, and panfish. I am SO excited to get to Maine and hopefully catch my first trout!!

Unfortunately, I am on an extremely tight budget right now due to medical bills and I was only able to buy the rod and reel with a gift card. I really want to be able to practice while I'm not able to fish but obviously I need line to be able to lol. At Bass Pro, it was going to cost about $40 to setup the backing, line, and leader (they would string it all on for free). I've found cheaper stuff online, but I'd have to do it myself... do you think I'd be able to do it myself and not mess it up? or should I have someone do it with experience?

Also, since I'm very new to this type of fishing AND the area I'll be fishing, I'm pretty concerned I'll be completely lost out there. If there is anyone willing to fill me in on the Midcoast Maine area I'd really appreciate it, and if there is anyone that would possibly want to meet up to fish someday that would be AMAZING!! As you can see I'm pretty much clueless on the whole subject, but can't wait to learn. Any and all information is much appreciated!