The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 10:11 PM

laxfisher35 is on a distinguished road
Default Saying Hello!

Hi everyone!

I am new to fly fishing and would love to really start getting into it before I go to college. I am 17 years old and I live in Dallas, Texas. My best friend and I started fly fishing this past summer but I haven't really often to since I didn't have a rod and would just trade off with him when he wasn't using it. Tomorrow I am going to cabelas to purchase my first rod and I am very excited. I don't know a whole lot but I know enough to get me started. I am most likely going to buy a cabelas LSi 9 foot 5 weight just to start out with. And I know some might say it's too nice of a rod to start with but I found it or only $70 in the bargain cave and that is just as much as any of the cheaper ones so why not get a fantastic one for the same price as a beginner one?! But it is only the rod so I will have to buy the reel separately. The reel will most likely be the prestige plus or a wind river reel but I'm not sure what size to get. I mostly fish for perch, bream, and bass so I will probably get a 5/6 weight in either of those reels. I'm not totally sure about how to pick a reel but I believe you match the weight Of the rod to the reel. I am sure the guys at cabelas can help. If anyone has any ideas on reels that are reasonably priced or anything that will help a beginner that would be fantastic. Also I plan on attending Colorado state university so if anyone knows of good spots in Fort Collins Colorado to fly fish let me know! Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Hardyreels; 10-16-2012 at 12:11 AM. Reason: Change title to fit Introductions thread;
Old 10-15-2012, 01:04 AM
Administrator