The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Member Introductions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/member-introductions/)
-   -   Noob Here (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/member-introductions/324769-noob-here.html)

front royalty 07-10-2013 07:20 PM

Noob Here

Hello All!

My name is John and I live in Front Royal, VA.

Picked up my first fly rod over the weekend, took it out for the first time yesterday and accidentally caught 10 fish, 2 of which were nice sized smallies that I just couldnt land. Got them about 2 feet away before they managed to hop off.

My setup is the Redington 2 pc Crosswater 590 combo, the 5 weight 9' setup.

Anyway, definitely gonna hold out and get some casting lessons, my loops are horrible, cant cast much more than 20-25', and its ugly.

Just wanted to stop in and say hello!

And so the addiction begins...

williamhj 07-10-2013 07:27 PM

Re: Noob Here

Welcome. I'm sure the casting lesson will help you sort the cast out.

front royalty 07-10-2013 07:36 PM

Thanks. I have the opportunity to take lessons from somewhat of a local trout fishing legend, Harry Murray, in Edinburg, VA. Just need to put a couple other addictions on the back burner and put some coin together.

innes 07-10-2013 07:53 PM

Holy Smokes!! you're in the middle of fly fishing mecca. I've been to Murray's Fly Shop and he's the best source of info there is. Post some fishing reports and pictures so I can invade your territory when I come back. Thanks. SF

mcnerney 07-10-2013 09:13 PM

John: Welcome to the forum and the great sport of fly fishing! As the others have said you are located in a great place to learn fly fishing!

front royalty 07-10-2013 09:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by innes (Post 571511)