The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2013, 07:20 PM

front royalty is on a distinguished road
Default Noob Here

Hello All!

My name is John and I live in Front Royal, VA.

Picked up my first fly rod over the weekend, took it out for the first time yesterday and accidentally caught 10 fish, 2 of which were nice sized smallies that I just couldnt land. Got them about 2 feet away before they managed to hop off.

My setup is the Redington 2 pc Crosswater 590 combo, the 5 weight 9' setup.

Anyway, definitely gonna hold out and get some casting lessons, my loops are horrible, cant cast much more than 20-25', and its ugly.

Just wanted to stop in and say hello!

And so the addiction begins...
Old 07-10-2013, 07:27 PM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Noob Here

Welcome. I'm sure the casting lesson will help you sort the cast out.
Old 07-10-2013, 07:36 PM

Thanks. I have the opportunity to take lessons from somewhat of a local trout fishing legend, Harry Murray, in Edinburg, VA. Just need to put a couple other addictions on the back burner and put some coin together.
williamhj and yonder like this.
Old 07-10-2013, 07:53 PM