The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 09:57 PM

ltroh is on a distinguished road
Default New Fly Fisherman

I am new to fly fishing. I ordered my first fly rod from Ebay and hope to have it in by this weekend so I can start practicing this great form of fishing.

I do have one question. Is there any truth to the statement that certain weight lines can accommodate only certain types of flies? Any help in this area would be great.

I am looking forward to interacting with everyone and hope that I will come to love fly fishing as much as all of you do.

V/R
Tony
Old 07-10-2008, 01:42 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: New Fly Fisherman

Hi Tony,

Welcome to the forum. Where do you fish and for what?

There is some truth to your question but I think there is a little confusion. The rod weight determines what weight flies you can fish efficiently. The line is chosen to match the weight of the rod. So if you had a 2wt rod it would not be a good choice to cast heavy sub-surface flies. The 2wt would normally be used to dry fly fish for small to moderate sized trout.