The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2008, 02:12 PM

DLeeHarley is on a distinguished road
Hello from Idaho!

Hey All, Just wanted to say hey. I'm a relative novice at fly fishing. I'm trying to learn at much as I can, but as in other fields unless you learn the correct way you just run into other problems. I've only fished with one of these Combo rod kits. It's a 6 wt. which to me feels like I'm fishing with a tree branch! I'm looking at purchasing a 4 wt. quality rod. Next I'm going to have to watch someone who knows what he's doing! LOL And improve my casting. With help from sites like this I'm on my way! Thanks,

Dennis- Nampa, Idaho
Old 07-22-2008, 02:27 PM
Joni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Hello from Idaho!

Dennis you are right in that you need to watch someone or better yet see if there are classes. This will also help you in finding the right rod.
If you think you have the basics down, then I suggest trying different actions out. You will find one that you will feel effortless in casting.
Until then, I don't think I can give you ideas on which rod.
Are you a fast action / medium action / slow action caster?
Old 07-22-2008, 03:28 PM
Administrator