The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Member Introductions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/member-introductions/)
-   -   Saying Hello from Massachusetts (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/member-introductions/6551-saying-hello-massachusetts.html)

TimmyMac 11-17-2008 11:09 AM

Saying Hello from Massachusetts

Hey, gang...

I'm an absolute newbie to flyfishing, but I'm hoping I can lurk here and soak up some knowledge over the winter to put into practice come spring. I'm dropping massive Christmas gift hints for an inexpensive outfit to learn how to cast with.

Why?

Well, for years, I've been using a spinning rod with a casting bubble and fly, and pretty much only that, to catch fish. I've decided it's time to stop screwing around and learn how to flyfish properly.

Of course, I wish I'd come to this conclusion BEFORE I moved out of Colorado, but...

atlaw 11-17-2008 12:18 PM

Re: Saying Hello from Massachusetts

In a previous life I lived in Western Mass. Try the Deerfield above Charlemont, I fished it almost everyday for a while. just watch the releases as the levels change FAST.

Frank Whiton 11-17-2008 02:06 PM

TimmyMack,

Shame, Shame, you lived in Colorado and never fly fished.:smile:

Welcome to NAFFF. With the help of the many good people on the forum we will have you fly fishing in no time.