The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Back at the Lodge > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Introduce yourself and get to know other forum members...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2009, 02:36 PM

OleCaster is on a distinguished road
Default Hello from Arizona on the Mexican Border

I grew up bottom fishing, spin casting, and trolling in Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay. I am totally new to fly fishing and fresh water fishing and have only wet a fly line during an Orvis fishing school and at a casting school session with the local club.
Old 03-04-2009, 02:58 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Hello from Arizona on the Mexican Border

Hey Olecaster, welcome to the board. I guess you mostly have warm water fish down there? Panfish and bass can be a blast on a fly rod if you have some water nearby.

And if you're close to any salt water, there should be tons of opportunities for redfish and speckled trout (weakfish).

We have a bunch of folks here from Texas that might be able to give you some advice on where to go.

We're a pretty friendly bunch here, so ask away if you have any questions, and feel free to jump in on discussions.

There's also a bunch of stuff in the FAQ sections and past threads that might be worth a browse if you're new to all this. Hopefully we can demystify some of the lingo, answer questions about gear etc. and get you pointed in the right direction.

Again, welcome to the board, make yourself at home.

Mark