The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Mid-Atlantic Area (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/mid-atlantic-area/)
-   -   Old Timer New Fly Rodder (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/mid-atlantic-area/289811-old-timer-new-fly-rodder.html)

bhdpal 06-26-2012 08:04 PM

Old Timer New Fly Rodder

Greetings;

I am new to Fly Fishing and this Forum. I am 70years old and have fished most of my life with convential fishing tackle. I recently got hooked on fly fishing while on a black bear hunt in Canada.

I have been researching and reading lots of info on flyfishing, casting, flies, rigging the fly line, etc.

I need a lot of practice and really should get some professional instruction and advice on tackle and gear. I've had both my knees totally replaced and have to be careful on where I wade and fish. I have a canoe and like fishing from the canoe but I also like wading.

One of the many questions I have is about the leader and tippet relationship. I rigged the end of my weight forward floating fly line with a commercial 9foot 6X tapered leader. What I am confused about is do I tie on a smaller diameter tippet to the end of my tapered leader?

I would also like to meet some fishing buddies who wouldn't mind having an old cogger tag along. I can fend for myself but it's nice to have some company.

Joe P

williamhj 06-26-2012 08:09 PM

Re: Old Timer New Fly Rodder

Tippet is the thin end of the tapered leader so you don't need to add it. Once you have tied and cut off some flies and the end is getting thicker then you add more tippet. Welcome!

fire instructor 06-26-2012 08:15 PM

Welcome to the addiction, Joe! I'm also a relative newbie, only starting about 6 monhs ago. I did two things that have helped me a lot.

1) Joined a local fly-fishing club - They sponsored a fly tying class where I learned a lot and met some gret folks who have been very helpful.