The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Mid-Atlantic Area

Mid-Atlantic Area Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Delaware, West Virginia, and Virginia. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 08:04 PM

bhdpal is on a distinguished road
Default Old Timer New Fly Rodder

Greetings;

I am new to Fly Fishing and this Forum. I am 70years old and have fished most of my life with convential fishing tackle. I recently got hooked on fly fishing while on a black bear hunt in Canada.

I have been researching and reading lots of info on flyfishing, casting, flies, rigging the fly line, etc.

I need a lot of practice and really should get some professional instruction and advice on tackle and gear. I've had both my knees totally replaced and have to be careful on where I wade and fish. I have a canoe and like fishing from the canoe but I also like wading.

One of the many questions I have is about the leader and tippet relationship. I rigged the end of my weight forward floating fly line with a commercial 9foot 6X tapered leader. What I am confused about is do I tie on a smaller diameter tippet to the end of my tapered leader?

I would also like to meet some fishing buddies who wouldn't mind having an old cogger tag along. I can fend for myself but it's nice to have some company.

Joe P
Old 06-26-2012, 08:09 PM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Old Timer New Fly Rodder