Where to Move To in Virginia???

whalensdad

Reaction score
So my wife and I are planning on moving from Central NY. I'm not retiring, but I work virtually, so can live just about anywhere. One area of the country we are contemplating is Williamsburg area of Virginia. What are the fishing opportunities in and around that area of Virginia? Are there areas of Virginia that have better opportunities?

acorad

Reaction score
Boy, near Williamsburg?

I'm no expert, but I'd guess the majority of fly fishing in that area would be salty. Which is not a slam, I fish the salt much more than sweet water these days.

However, as cochise says above, if you want trout, go west!

I grew up in NJ, went to college in upstate NY, and lived in CO & ID before Cali now.

imo, the worst winter in the West is still better than a "good" winter in NY.

Andy

whalensdad

Reaction score
Boy, near Williamsburg?

I'm no expert, but I'd guess the majority of fly fishing in that area would be salty. Which is not a slam, I fish the salt much more than sweet water these days.

However, as cochise says above, if you want trout, go west!

I grew up in NJ, went to college in upstate NY, and lived in CO & ID before Cali now.

imo, the worst winter in the West is still better than a "good" winter in NY.

Andy
The kidlets will finally be off in college so there is NOTHING keeping us here in NY. I agree wholeheartedly about the winters. Spent 20 yrs in the Navy with nearly 1/2 of it in San Diego. Was in San Diego before moving to NY where the schools are great and the fishing is plentiful. The wife is dictating the locations. We're also considering the PacNW.

I was concerned that the area would be mostly salt, which I don't do. I guess that gets me a "deal breaker" :)

dhaynes

Reaction score
The whole peninsula area of Virginia is getting way too over-populated... Consider someplace like Roanoke, Staunton, Charlottesville... All close to very good trout waters and numerous lakes...

jayr

Reaction score