The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Mid-Atlantic Area

Mid-Atlantic Area Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Delaware, West Virginia, and Virginia. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2008, 08:43 AM

JeffK is on a distinguished road
Default Fly fishing spots near Washington, DC

I'm new to the sport, and fairly new to the DC area. I just purchased a new LL Bean setup (Double L, 9ft Rod, 5wt. w/ Double L Reel). I and am excited to get out and fish.

I'm looking for suggestions of good places to fish near Washington, DC.

Thoughts? Thanks!
Old 04-13-2008, 09:36 PM

Bob Lang will become famous soon enoughBob Lang will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Fly fishing spots near Washington, DC

Jeff,

I've never fished the D. C. area, but I did read a book about fishing that area. If memory serves, and it is getting old, Howell Raines wrote a book about fishing and some of the fishing was in the D. C. area. As I recall the name of the book is Fly Fishing Through the Midlife Crisis. I was surprised one could fish for trout yet literally still be in the downtown area. He also covers trout fishing in Maryland, West Virgiania, etc. It's been a long time since I read it.

I don't know if it is still in print, but someone ought to have it for sale.

Good luck and good fishing.

Bob

Kamin's Third Law - Combined total taxation from all levels of Government will always increase until the Government is replaced by war or revolution.
Old 04-14-2008, 07:12 AM

jimw has a spectacular aura aboutjimw has a spectacular aura aboutjimw has a spectacular aura about