The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Mid-Atlantic Area

Mid-Atlantic Area Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Delaware, West Virginia, and Virginia. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2009, 09:35 AM

Pavel will become famous soon enough
Default Penns Creek, Coburn , PA

Looking to possibly make my first trip down to Penns Creek from Canada. Any info on this area would be great. Also, it looks like the time that I would be able to make it is:
1) Last week of June
2)Last week of August or
3) First week of September

Which would you choose?

Thanks in advance,

Pavel
Old 02-24-2009, 12:44 AM

dshort has a spectacular aura aboutdshort has a spectacular aura aboutdshort has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Penns Creek, Coburn , PA

Pavel, since nobody else has responded, I'll give it a shot. I have no personal experience with Penns Creek but from what I know, I would probably pick late June. You've got a chance to see BWO's, Light Cahills, tan caddis, Slate Drakes and of course terrestrials. The hatch chart I found here: Fly Fishing Penns Creek in Pennsylvania shows sulfurs ending earlier than that, but you might get lucky and get into some of those as well. Sulfurs are probably my favorite hatch.
Old 02-24-2009, 08:20 AM

Greenwood will become famous soon enoughGreenwood will become famous soon enough

Hi,
Although I'm from Pa; I haven't fished Penns Creek. Consequently, I didn't respond earlier. Jump on the fly fishermans paradise website (it's a fly shop that's in State college, Pa): Fly Fisher's Paradise - Home They'll provide a lot of info on that stream as well as others in the area. I'm sure you can call or email them from that point.

I tend to agree that your June date would probably be best; the September date would be my 2nd choice.