The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Mid-Atlantic Area

Mid-Atlantic Area Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Delaware, West Virginia, and Virginia. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009, 09:16 PM

jared051791 is on a distinguished road
Default New to fly fishing. Help please!

Hey i am just getting into fly fishing and i leave in se pa about an hour north of philly. im wondering what type of flies i should be using in the local streams to try and bring in some trout. or is it too late at this point of the year to have much luck? so far i havent really caught anything but sun fish and i have been getting out 3 to 4 times a week so im beginning to wonder where im going wrong. im also fishing some lakes for bass and wondering if a woolie bugger is the way to go or what other flies i should be trying out?
thanks a lot for the help and i cant wait to get more into this!
Old 05-26-2009, 09:21 PM

Davo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Davo Send a message via Skype™ to Davo
Default Re: New to fly fishing. Help please!

you should ask your local fly shop what is good at the time of year. I used to live on the Philly main line and fish year round mostly. There are lots of great little streams around there. Check amazon.com for guide books for PA trout streams. I used to have several of them but gave them to friends when I moved to WY. Sorry I can't recall any names. Exactly where north of Philly are you?

Upstream Anglers and Outdoor Adventures
Old 05-27-2009, 08:47 AM