Bags / Packs

chart33

Reaction score
What does everyone look for in bags/ packs? Are there any must have features of back packs and chest packs?

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Chart,

Welcome to the forum; old school here, I bought a Filson strap vest / pack in the mid 90's and I use that on warm days or when hiking in some distance. Mine is the wax finish type and has the back pack. Handy for rain gear and some snacks / beverage, and lots of tippet pockets and fly box space. Not exactly 21st century but it's getting it done here.

Ard

chart33

Reaction score
Thanks! I'm new to fly fishing and am trying to learn as much as possible about the gear.

Davo

Reaction score
I'm thinking about a new one this year, we'll see. Right now I'm using an old DB Dun waist pac I bought about 16yrs ago or more. Went to it when I finally gave up my Simms vest last year. It was just to cumbersome and hard to work with in the drift boat. I'm considering strongly the Fishpond Waterdance Guide Pack.

Jimmie

Reaction score
Last season I changed from a vest to a sling pack. It makes rock hopping so much easier. It seems like there is never anything in the way. Even the vest would billow out, and throw off balance. I'll never go back. Plus, it holds a lot of stuff, and is easier to get too.

Bigfly

Reaction score
Just ordered the FPond waterdance pack in deep water blue. I'll report back soon.
I have been using a Filson knock-off strap pack (like Ard). It was poorly made in China.Lasted a only three seasons.
Like the style, because I tend to wade deep and don't enjoy soaking everything. Weight is on my shoulders rather than on my neck.
I'm having it remade by a friend to my specks. Ooooo. Can't wait for that.
I'll give a report on the custom pack later.
Been using a waterproof portage pack for client waters/lunches/clothing etc.
Features that help...
Quick to drain/dry is a good feature (just in case of a swim).
Quiet colors too.

Jim

dean_mt

Reaction score