The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 03:01 PM

acoustic is on a distinguished road
Default Simms Freestone Wading Boots

Hey Everyone,

I just got my first fly rod and am looking for some wading boots. I like the Simms Freestone boots, any opinion on them? They're at the absolute upper limit of my budget though.

I'll be fishing mostly in a slow moving to rapids river which has some large boulders between a sandy bottom, with many small to medium boulders as well (no gravel).

From everything I know so far, it seems like these boots would be a good choice, but I also know I'm a total noob on this topic haha. Is there something better I should look at?

Thanks!
Old 03-08-2011, 08:40 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Simms Freestone Wading Boots

If you want a very heavy boot, go for it. The Streamtread rubber soles should be okay for you, but I would add the studs for extra insurance.

If you want to stay with a lighter boot with a felt sole, look at the Greys G-Series boots. For $79.95, it is a great value for a boot.

MP
Old 03-08-2011, 08:53 PM