The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2007, 04:24 PM

Deuce 22 is on a distinguished road
Default 3Wt. Fly Line

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie to this forum. Great place. Well I have searched and haven't found what I am looking for. I got my first 3 wt. rod yesterday. G-loomis Metolius 7' and a Venture 3 reel for it. I got it to fish the little creeks in Southern CA where the longer rods just are a hinder in the brush and trees. My question is what 3wt. line would you suggest for small/very small creeks where the water for the most part are not deeper then a couple of feet and crystal clear. I want to go with a weight foreward or double taper line. Casting will be 10 to 15 ft. What brand of line and would a certain color be best?
Old 03-14-2007, 10:16 PM
Administrator

Fish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Fish Bones
Default Re: 3Wt. Fly Line

As far as casting, you can't tell the difference between a WF or DT if you're only going to be casting 10 to 15 ft.