The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 09:38 AM

bwofish is on a distinguished road
Default Waders Question

I've been using hip waders for awhile and I'm tired of not able to wade in higher water and my feet always being cold. I don't fish in the cold that much(maybe 4 times a year) so I don't want to spend that much. What are options around $100-150?

I'd rather have neoprene stockingfoot w/ boots seperate but I'm open to options as I'm no expert. Thanks!
Old 03-21-2012, 04:09 PM

Walter1023 is just really niceWalter1023 is just really niceWalter1023 is just really niceWalter1023 is just really nice
Default Re: Waders Question

I started flyfishing in hip waders and was amazed how many times I'd go to deep and got wet. That lasted one season. For any moderately sized river there is no doubt chest waders rule. I started with Cabelas and they gave a good bang for the buck.....depending on your budget .....I'd check out the Redington Sonic Pro welded waders...the reviews for $250 waders are off the wall. as for Neoprene .....I've never owned anything but breathables. in hot weather Neoprenes make you wish you had breathable....but I fish really cold water in breathables... I just wear thermal long johns and warm socks.

---------- Post added at 04:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:07 PM ----------

sorry just realized you want to keep it at 100-150.....i'd say go to $150 and check out Cabelas at that range
Old 03-21-2012, 04:29 PM
Administrator