The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 01:14 PM

garyo is on a distinguished road
Default Noob gear questions?

I need a waist pack, gel floatant, forceps, and line clippers. I see that there is a buttload of manufacturers and models for each. Do you folks have a favorite based on experience? Thanks...
Old 09-25-2012, 12:07 PM

cjottawa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Noob gear questions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyo View Post
I need a waist pack, gel floatant, forceps, and line clippers. I see that there is a buttload of manufacturers and models for each. Do you folks have a favorite based on experience? Thanks...
I'm surprised nobody's responded to this already.

I'm fairly new to the sport but I'll give you my take, based partly on other sports and hobbies I've "geared up" for.

Figure out what you're really going to use and ditch the rest. Don't over pack and don't under pack. Buy a bag that holds all of what you need.

For urban fishing, a fire starter and emergency blanket are useless but a GPSr, cellphone and credit card would be well suited. Always carry a packable rain jacket designed for wading. If you go to more remote areas, make sure you're carrying enough extras to keep you warm and alive until help can show up, if needed. (emerg blanket/bag, fire starter etc). For really remote areas where you could get yourself in serious trouble, a "SPOT" emergency beacon is a great idea. They have an "A-OK" function so you can report your position back to family with the push of a button.