The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Other Gear (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/other-gear/)
-   -   Wader advice: Orvis Silver Sonic (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/other-gear/325079-wader-advice-orvis-silver-sonic.html)

dhaynes 07-14-2013 09:01 AM

Wader advice: Orvis Silver Sonic

Need to replace my waders.... I am seriously considering the Orvis Silver Sonic waders. Would appreciate any feedback, reviews, or comparisons.

Thanks

jaybo41 07-14-2013 09:45 AM

Re: Wader advice: Orvis Silver Sonic

I have no experience with the Silver Sonics but I'm fairly certain a number of members do. I do however, have the Sonic Seam chest high version. They're very comfortable and seem durable enough, but they are not my primary wader. I use them in the warmer temps and as a backup. They pack down incredibly small making them ideal for travel. Orvis wader repair and CS has been very good in my experience.

This is worth a read, but as with any opinion and in particular these Shootouts, take it with a grain of salt.

2013 Wader Shootout - Yellowstone Angler

MoscaPescador 07-14-2013 10:27 AM

I do not have any experience with the Orvis Silver Sonic waders, however, I have been using the Redington Sonic Pro Zip waders since they were released. I will comment that the Sonic welding technology is very durable. I have put well over 100 days on my waders and not had a seam leak.

Dennis

mikel 07-14-2013 10:39 AM

I'm 3 yrs into a pair...generally wear them waist hi while wading and chest hi in my tube. Not sure how many days I have in them, but well over 100 certainly. No leaks, no issues. I find them comfortable, pretty easy on and off...if you like the idea of convertible waders, these do a nice job.

I got mine on sale and with a coupon...if you're not on Orvis mailing list sign up and you can likely save a few $$$.