The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Other Gear (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/other-gear/)
-   -   Help!!! Wader questions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/other-gear/333588-help-wader-questions.html)

oldskoo11 10-06-2013 07:53 PM

Help!!! Wader questions

Ok so I am a complete noob to this fly fishing thing. I am interested in picking up some waders, I have always just put on some shorts and waded up the local rivers before now. But I wasn't fly fishing and I plan on doing some fall steelhead fishing so I will need the protection from the elements come mid November. So what's the deal with stocking foot and the rest. Are these truly water proof waders and if I buy the stocking foot plus wading boots am I going to be getting wet? I know your probably saying wtf another noob but I have no idea where to begin. Thank in advance and go easy on me. I have been a fisherman for 50 of my 55 years but this fly thing is all new to me....Oldskoo11

silver creek 10-06-2013 09:21 PM

Re: Help!!! Wader questions

You won't get wet.

Modern breathable waders are waterproof. Just make sure that the boots are sized to fit correctly with the socks and waders you will be wearing. Too tight and your feet will get cold.

Also make sure that the waders loose enough in the crotch that you can climb up a bank or over a fence. Try them on with the layers of clothing you will wear under the waders in the winter.

Unless you are going to fish from a boat, get boots with studded soles. They generally have better grip.

mikel 10-06-2013 09:28 PM

Don't fall into the trap of buying cheap waders. I did and so did many others, but this is one case where you get what you pay for. Waders you can trust and a warranty that works are "priceless".