The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

Like Tree16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2013, 07:53 PM

oldskoo11 is on a distinguished road
Default Help!!! Wader questions

Ok so I am a complete noob to this fly fishing thing. I am interested in picking up some waders, I have always just put on some shorts and waded up the local rivers before now. But I wasn't fly fishing and I plan on doing some fall steelhead fishing so I will need the protection from the elements come mid November. So what's the deal with stocking foot and the rest. Are these truly water proof waders and if I buy the stocking foot plus wading boots am I going to be getting wet? I know your probably saying wtf another noob but I have no idea where to begin. Thank in advance and go easy on me. I have been a fisherman for 50 of my 55 years but this fly thing is all new to me....Oldskoo11
Old 10-06-2013, 09:21 PM

silver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!!! Wader questions

You won't get wet.

Modern breathable waders are waterproof. Just make sure that the boots are sized to fit correctly with the socks and waders you will be wearing. Too tight and your feet will get cold.