The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2014, 11:19 AM

shellback is on a distinguished road
Default fly line leader

as i am brand new to fly fishing, i am practicing daily. my problem is: i 've worn out the stout line that connects my fly line to my tippet.
i got the knots- would say 30lb mono (nail knot to perfection loop) work?
i have a museum in my closet of mono from 20lb to 300lb so multiple line tests, flexibilitys and hardnesses are available.
also, i had an idea about using some 4lb flurocarbon for a tippet with my floating line- like for use with a wooly bugger. waddya think?
thanks for your time and reply
tom (retired tuna fisherman)
Old 08-10-2014, 03:50 PM

fredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond reputefredaevans has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: fly line leader

Leader from fly line to tip of the tippet needs to be in 'scale' with the line weight. Just what I do with my rods. Nail knot, or the other, to connect the butt to the tip of the fly line.

4 and 5 wts=12 or 15 pound MAIN LINE NOT leader material. Leader material is too soft, then scale it down to tippet. 6-7's get 20 or 25# butts, over a 7wt rod usually 25-30# material. But the 'key' here is to use main line for your butt section.