The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By ia_trouter
  • 2 Post By zug buggin
  • 2 Post By GrtLksMarlin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2015, 02:44 AM

djcoin is on a distinguished road
Default Need advice on spinning rod fly fishing system.

Hello. I'm new to fly fishing and I'm looking forward to doing some this summer.
In my research I have discovered that fly fishing line has to be replaced with relative frequency.

I can sometimes go long periods of time without resupply when I go into the backcountry.

I'm looking for a more long lasting, self sustaining, solution than something that requires me to keep replacing parts.

I noticed that some people use flies with spinning rods and bubbles and claim that this method is more effective than purist methods.

In any case, having a bobber system where I don't have to worry about the line wearing out seems ideal.

The problem is I want a system that can function in fast moving streams as well as lakes.

The typical spinning rod fly fishing system seems to have long leaders so I don't know if this type of system can work in streams or even in fast moving water.
Does anyone have any experience in this area?
Old 06-16-2015, 08:21 AM

ia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud ofia_trouter has much to be proud of
Default Re: Need advice on spinning rod fly fishing system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djcoin View Post
In my research I have discovered that fly fishing line has to be replaced with relative frequency.