The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

Like Tree18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2015, 08:59 AM

mc1960 is on a distinguished road
Default New vise

I have never tied a fly in my 55 years, I fish for mainly panfish, but living near the coast, may also go for some speckled trout and redfish. I am just getting into fly fishing, have done most of my fishing on ultralight tackle, I have done a lot of reading on the internet and have a short list of the vises that I think would work well for me. I would appreciate your thoughts on the following choices. These are all in my budget, if there is another within this price range I would like to know about it as well. I am leaning towards the Peak rotary. Thanks for all of your help. Mark

Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise 170.00 Orvis

Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise 155.00 Cabela's

HMH Spartan Vise 140.00 on sale Cabela's

Anvil Apex 115.00 Bass Pro Shop
hairwing530 likes this.
Old 12-27-2015, 09:17 AM

spm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud ofspm has much to be proud of
Default Re: New vise

First of all, welcome to the forum. You will find answers to most all of your questions here; lots of good people on here willing to help.

I use the Anvil Apex vise and it does everything I need a vise to do.

Again, welcome to the forum.
steve, aka spm
hairwing530 and onemississipp like this.
Old 12-27-2015, 09:21 AM

winstonwt will become famous soon enoughwinstonwt will become famous soon enough
Exclamation Re: New vise

RENZETTI,no. 1 for quality.
hairwing530 likes this.
Old 12-27-2015, 11:40 AM